German and Austrian municipalities still at the top of Europe in 2013 !

RES Champions League 2013 ceremony

The 12 champions all together during the award ceremony held in Kassel on the 24th September 2013 during the annual congress of 100% RE regions.

Published by Yannick Régnier on 25/09/2013

More than 10 000 municipalities and regions from 12 European countries (among which 5 new in 2013) representing 100 million people : here are the impressive figures of the fourth season of the RES Champions League.

The award ceremony took place during the international "100% renewable energy regions" annual congress in Kassel (Germany) on the 24th of September. 12 champions got a European prize in 4 different divisions.

European champions 2013

The European champions of 2013 season are (by size division):

Less than 5 000 inhabitants

1st Wildpoldsried (Germany)
2nd Mureck (Austria)
3rd Saint-Julien Montdenis (France)

From 5 000 to 20 000 inhabitants

1st ex-aequo Saerbeck (Germany)
1st ex-aequo Bruck Leitha (Austria)
3rd Comhairle nan Eilean Siar (Scotland)

From 20 000 to 100 000 inhabitants

1st Amstetten (Austria)
2nd Wangen im Allgäu (Germany)
3rd Mouscron (Belgium)

More than 100 000 inhabitants

1st Trier region (Germany)
2nd Perpignan Méditerranée (France)
3rd Bergamo (Italy)

The following countries are part of the European Championship: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Poland, Romania, Scotland and Slovenia. "Still northern and southern countries should join the movement so that the participation of municipalities from the 28 countries is possible tomorrow: we are waiting for them!”, stressed Yannick Régnier, project coordinator at CLER.



How are the champions identified?

The installed capacity of renewable energy units is the main indicator of the competition. However, qualitative information (based on 30 criteria on political commitment, strategic approach and implemented actions) submitted by the municipalities and regions play also a key role in the evaluation process.

In every country involved in the competition and in every division, a single municipality or region is selected at national level to participate in the final of RES Champions League. Then a European jury, composed of energy experts, networks of local authorities, NGOs, journalists from all participating countries, plus recognised European organisations, elects champions through a two-rounds voting process. As a consequence, champions in each division are necessarily from three different countries.