The best European renewable communities in 2014 have just been revealed !

All winners of RES Champions League 2014 deliver a message to the European decision-makers: "100% RES: let us move it !"

All winners of RES Champions League 2014 deliver a message to the European decision-makers: "100% RES: let us move it !"

Published by Yannick Régnier on 25/06/2014

The award ceremony of the RES Champions League 2014 took place in Brussels (Belgium) on the 25th of June as a highlight of the European Sustainable Energy Week. Austrian candidates are leading in 2014, marked man-to-man by those from Germany!

While European decision-makers are failing (until now) to deliver a clear and ambitious agenda on sustainable energy after 2020, communities show from the ground that a 100% renewables long-term objective for Europe is not only realistic, but highly desirable. Elected representatives gathered here today prove that building a sustainable energy future is only a matter of political will”, said Yannick Régnier, coordinator of the action.

More than 10 000 municipalities and regions from 12 European countries representing 100 million people were involved in the 5th season of the RES Champions League, a European competition between communities based on renewable energy.

The 2014 European champions season are:

Less than 5 000 inhabitants

1st Kötschach-Mauthen (Austria)

2nd Furth bei Landshut (Germany)

3rd Attert (Belgium)

From 5 000 to 20 000 inhabitants

1st St Johann im Pongau (Austria)

2nd Alheim (Germany)

3rd Thouarsais (France)

From 20 000 to 100 000 inhabitants

1st Villach (Austria)

2nd Rhein Hunsrück (Germany)

3rd Dumfries and Galloway (Scotland)

More than 100 000 inhabitants

1st Osnabrück (Germany)

2nd Pilsen (the Czech Republic)

3rd Highland (Scotland)


In addition, special awards of the jury have been awarded to the following four communities for the quality of their energy approaches:

Read more about all champions and awarded municipalities:


The following countries are part of this European Championship: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Poland, Romania, Scotland and Slovenia. "Still northern and southern countries should join the movement so that the participation of municipalities from the 28 countries is possible tomorrow: we are waiting for them!”, stressed Yannick Régnier.

How are champions defined?

The quantitative data on installed capacity of renewable energy units is the main indicator of the competition. However, qualitative information (based on 20 criteria on political commitment, strategic and systemic approaches) submitted by the communities play also a key role in the evaluation process.

In every country involved in the competition and in every division, a single community is selected at national level to participate in the final of RES Champions League. Then a European jury, composed of energy experts, networks of local authorities, NGOs, journalists from all participating countries, plus recognised European organisations, decides on champions (quite like in the Cannes Film Festival!). As a consequence, champions in each division are necessarily from three different countries.